Chocolate-Covered Coconut Bars

image

I’ve loved Mounds candy bars since I can remember, so finding this recipe was one of my most exciting discoveries. I thought the ratio of chocolate-to-coconut leaned a little too heavy on the chocolate. But Mat quickly reminded me that I wasn’t making any sense. I suggest keeping them in the fridge (instead of the freezer) for streamlined scarfing.

Ingredients

1 cup organic coconut oil
2 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
1/4 cup organic honey
12 ounces organic dark chocolate

Directions
  1. Warm coconut oil just until it is liquified.
  2. Add shredded coconut and honey and combine well.
  3. Line shallow baking pan with parchment paper and press mixture into baking pan.
  4. Freeze or refrigerate until solid.
  5. Melt chocolate and spread over coconut.
  6. Cut into squares and keep refrigerated.

*cut bars at room temperature so chocolate cuts easier.

Leave a Reply

